Temptation

With hungry ambition you listen and wait
as the weight of the world’s on my mind.
Taking my hand, it’s already too late,
I stand no chance with your kind.

With the weight of the world on my mind,
I pray for the prey I’ve become,
for I stand no chance with your kind,
there’s nowhere for me to run.

I pray for the prey I’ve become,
as my mind tries to find an escape,
though there’s nowhere for me to run,
you are my dangerous mistake.

My mind can not find an escape,
so I whisper a prayer. Amen.
I’ve made a dangerous mistake,
wandering into the lion’s den.

I whisper a prayer. Amen.
Hands clasped, it’s already too late,
for I stand in the lion’s den,
and with hungry ambition he listens,
                                                                  and waits.

 

 

 

Leave a comment